Daily Archives: September 2, 2012

Mini Mindset Adjustment

Before I decided to do this competition, I did plenty of research to get a basic idea of what to expect during competition prep and even after it. From what I learned about it from reading other articles and posts, everything is pretty true. I have had to adjust my social life, sleeping habits, eating habits and workout routines to make sure every single day I give every aspect of my life 100% effort. I had once read an article that was a warning to physique competitors, saying that you will only look your absolute best the day of the actual competition. With this in mind, I have, up till this point, viewed my body as a constantly changing mold. I have accepted the fact that the way I look at this moment may not be how I look five months from now. In the back of my mind that made me a little sad because I love the progress I’ve been making. I would think to myself, without having a competition date to strive towards, I don’t know if I’ll be able to resist that glass of wine or that extra piece of cake. But yesterday, as I was pulling out my tubber ware to warm up my perfectly portioned chicken and brown rice, I had a mini epiphany. I love my lifestyle. There doesn’t have to be an end. This is my body and I can do whatever I want with it. If I finish this competition and say to myself, “well there goes my need for willpower!” then that’s exactly what’s going to happen. That is why many competitors gain weight after a show. They spend weeks planning all the different fatty, greasy, calorie loaded meals they want to have because they earned it. I agree, yes you do deserve to indulge but the truth it, nothing will ever taste as good as being fit feels. After my competition, I’m going to have one extravagant, well-deserved cheat meal and the next day I will be right where I have been for the past 17 weeks. I’m not going to let these hard months go down the drain but I’m going to continue to improve my body. I’m starting to enjoy this competitive nature more and more every day. Currently, my plan right now is to compete, spend the next few months building more muscle and then once again cut down and prepare for my next show.

I’m glad I read that article because it did help me to realize that you get the body you work for. After my show if I decide to start eating more cheat meals, drink on the weekends, and reduce my cardio, then and ONLY then will my body change. But if I keep up working as hard as I have been, I will be bettering myself and continue to raise the bar.

I know this post has a lot going on about me and where my thoughts have been at but I want you to reflect on your own desires and ask yourself…what is something that you have really wanted to accomplish but haven’t yet for whatever reason? Is the time not right? Too busy? Have other obligations? Think about yourself in ten years… will you regret not doing it or will you say to yourself, thank goodness I never took that chance! I highly doubt it’ll be the latter. You determine your future and only you can achieve your dreams. Stop giving yourself excuses and become the strong, self-disciplined person you really are!

Set yourself up for failure and you will fail. Set yourself up for success and you will succeed.

Image