Daily Archives: September 15, 2012

7 Weeks Out- Progress Update

After spending my Friday night reading Oxygen Magazine, doing laundry, planning my workouts, eating out of tubberware and writing a paper for school, I decided it was time for another progress update. I’ve been in competition prep for 11 weeks now, I can hardly believe it. I’m down to 117 pounds and 9% body fat, a percentage I NEVER thought would be possible for me. And the best part is- I still have 7 more weeks to make even more progress. Throughout this process I’m constantly trying to identify more positive experiences and lessons I am learning and focusing on all the great things instead of the negative ones.

A few things I have concluded up to this point:

1. Alcohol is no longer a temptation. I could care less to go out and party. 11 weeks ago that was the one thing I thought I would really struggle with…it goes to show that when you deprive your body of something for so long, it doesn’t want it anymore.

2. Spending my weekends relaxing in my own apartment, blogging and catching up on my shows while drinking a beautiful cup of tea is perfectly fine. In the beginning, I kept putting pressure on myself to try to find a way to stay social but stay on track. YES it is possible to compete and be a social butterfly- don’t worry! But that’s not me right now. I enjoy my down time, relaxing my body and resting my mind. It’s my me time. Especially since school is in my life again, my boredom is kept to a minimum.

3. Criticism will always be shared. Don’t expect people to stay quite and only think their opinions. If somebody gives you their two cents and you don’t like it, brush it off. Try to find something valuable from their views (or not) and then move on. You’re more than likely making more progress than you even know so stick with it!

4. The scale is not everything. Weight fluctuates daily. Get your body fat measured every two weeks and use that measurement to determine your progress and pace.

5. I’ve read a lot about competitors doing this just once and then that’s it. I may not do it again…but I’m almost positive I will. I really really really like this competition thing so far. My plan right now is to take a year off to build muscle and then lean down again to compete in 2014. By then, I think I’ll be ready to compete in Figure instead of Bikini:)

6. My twitter followers mean so much to me. Really, you guys keep me strong and the encouragement I receive from y’all on a daily basis is such a blessing! Don’t know if I would be as optimistic as I am without your support!

Image

I got a new app called Picsitch and I’m a wee bit obsessed. Love summarizing a workout through a picture!

Image

My awesome weekend literature selection. All three of these magazines provide great information and clean recipes to try so that you never get bored. One of the best things about the fall issues are the PUMPKIN recipes found in almost every magazine! I cannot wait to try some of them!

That’s it for meow. I have another post to share in a few days that I’m looking forward to! In the mean time, stay fit and live healthy:)